This information is for the APAP|NYC 2020 conference and is for your reference only.
APAP|NYC 2021 information will be updated in the summer.

APAP Annual Awards

Who are the leaders you look to for innovation, knowledge and outstanding professionalism in the performing arts world? The APAP Awards Program is a long-standing tradition that honors, celebrates and recognizes colleagues each year at the APAP|NYC conference. 

APAP members are invited to submit names of peers whose years of hard work and dedication have contributed to the strength and power of our industry. Nominations are reviewed by a panel of members. Recipients will be honored at the Annual APAP Awards Luncheon at APAP|NYC.

APAPNYC 2020 Awards Ceremony Crowd by Adam Kissick/APAP

APAP members are invited to nominate managers, artists, agents, presenters, organizations and individuals for recognition as trailblazers who have made significant contributions to the performing arts. To nominate an individual or organization for a APAP Award, you must be a member of APAP, but your nominee is not required to be a member. The deadline for nominations was Monday, September 9, 2019 at 5 p.m. (EDT).

Award of Merit for achievement in the performing arts

Awarded to an individual whose genius, energy and excellence have defined or redefined an art form for today's audiences. In previous years, organizations, which had a profound and lasting effect on the performing arts, also were eligible for this award.

Sidney R. Yates Advocacy Award for outstanding advocacy on behalf of the performing arts

The Sidney R. Yates Advocacy Award honors an individual, or an organization, for a particular advocacy effort or for a sustained advocacy campaign at the national, state or local level that has had a significant impact on the performing arts. The award honors the late Congressman Sidney R. Yates, whose commitment to the arts was legendary and who continues to serve as an inspiration to all of us.

Fan Taylor Distinguished Service Award for exemplary service to the field of professional presenting

The Fan Taylor Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual whose outstanding service, creative thinking and leadership have had a significant impact on the profession of presenting and/or on the Association of Arts Professionals. This award honors Fan Taylor for her many contributions to the field of presenting. Taylor was instrumental in the development of what was then called the Association of College and University Concert managers. She served as Arts Professionals' first secretary-treasurer and eventually as the first executive director.

William Dawson Award for Programmatic Excellence and sustained achievement in programming

The William Dawson Award for Programmatic Excellence is presented to an individual or organization for the quality, innovation and vision of program design, audience building and community involvement efforts. The award is named to honor William M. Dawson for the service he provided to the field of arts administration during his 14 years as Director of the Association of Performing Arts Presenters, then the Association of College, university and Community Arts Administrators (ACUCAA).

Opportunities to Engage