Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
About APAP
APAP|365 > About > Who We Are > Chronology


1957 The Association of College and University Concert Managers is founded at a meeting in New York. Willard Sistare is president. Fannie Taylor is elected secretary-treasurer. The initial membership is approximately 35 presenters.

1971 Fan Taylor becomes executive director of ACUCM. Joan Lounsbery becomes the first full-time assistant director. Fan Taylor returns to Washington to work for the NEA; Bill Dawson takes over as half-time executive director at ACUCM.
1972 The annual conference is held in Houston, the first location outside of New York City. The inaugural Fan Taylor Award goes to Fannie Taylor.

1973 The annual conference moves back to New York. The organization changes from the Association of College and University Concert Managers to the Association of College, University and Community Arts Administrators.

1975 ACUCAA publishes and distributes the first Programming Calendar.

1978 The executive director's position is changed from part-time to full-time. The membership approves a code of conduct.

1982 ACUCAA office moves to new location in Madison, Wis. 

1984 The ACUCAA office is computerized.

1986 Bill Dawson resigns and is succeeded by Susie Farr. The William Dawson award is inaugurated.

1988 The association launches a formal long-range planning process. The ACUCAA national office moves to Washington, D.C.

1989 Inside Arts magazine launches. The first Leadership Institute is held. The association name becomes the Association of Performing Arts Presenters.

1990 An American Dialogue, the report from The National Task Force is published.

1995 An $80,000 grant is received from the Mellon Foundation to implement the Dance Travel Assistance Program. The William Dawson Education Endowment is established. 

1996 The association's web page premieres at the annual conference. The Young Performers Support Initiative premieres at the annual conference (an early version of today's Young Performers Career Advancement program!). Audience Development for the New Millennium training course launches.

1998 The annual conference is moved to January and the format is changed to accommodate a festival of events.

1999 Susie Farr resigns. The annual conference becomes a members-only gathering. The APAP membership directory and artists roster are made available on the APAP website.

2000 Sandra Gibson becomes APAP's president and CEO in July. The Association of Performing Arts Presenters helps secure the first funding increase for the NEA in six years.

2001 APAP launches a year-long assessment of the presenting field and a series of national and regional issues forums. APAP launches the Explorations Fund for international travel among presenters and managers, and the NEA awards $40,000 to APAP to implement the Emerging Leadership Institute.

2002 The Sidney R. Yates Advocacy Award is inaugurated. APAP develops the Visas Toolbox, a handbook and guide for non-immigrant visas for artists from abroad.

2004 The Association of Performing Arts Presenters participates in American Assembly convening The Creative Campus: The Role of Higher Education in Training, Sustaining and Presenting the Performing Arts and develops a new Creative Campus Initiative to explore assembly recommendations.


The Dawson Research Fellowship program begins in partnership with the Bolz Center at the University of Wisconsin.
2007 The 50th anniversary APAP conference is held in New York City with Fan Taylor serving as honorary chair.

2011 Sandra Gibson steps down, and the board of directors appoints Mario Garcia Durham as the association's fifth president and CEO.

APAP|NYC Conference